This is me Not Doing NaNoWriMo, Kind of, Not Really…

3 Nov

Current Status: Attempting to settle down to write

Food Consumed: Caffeine

On The iPod: With Teeth; Nine Inch Nails

I have a cat sitting on my back. Correction: kitten. This is actually really cute, but there’s a problem. My notebook is on the other side of the room, and while I’d quite like to get to writing, I don’t want to disturb little Georgie who will, coincidentally, turn into a screeching banshee if I wake her up.

Her screeching banshee act would then disturb me, of course. It’s a lose-lose situation.

Since this is primarily a blog about writing, and my struggle in getting those words down on pages – virtual or the real thing – I should probably make a mention of the craft.

I was sorely tempted to take part in my first NaNoWriMo this year. Sorely tempted. Alas, it wasn’t to be. I was just about through with the first draft of my first manuscript by the time the end of October rolled around, and had just started on a draft for an entirely different storyline (something I should have post-poned starting until November 1, now that I think about it – hindsight is a wonderful thing!). Tackling another new project seemed slightly too ambitious for someone really just starting out in the world of the written word, so I opted against participating in NaNoWriMo… to an extent.

This is where my “not-doing-NaNoWriMo-kind-of-not-really” comes in: while I haven’t signed up, as such, I still hold high hopes that I can get 50,000 words down on my current projects by November 30. At least, that’s the plan.

So far, I’ve been a bit of a lazy bitch. The first two days of the epic writing month were spent by me cradling a hangover – the result of some seriously unnecessary drinking. And also, working through the Melbourne Cup. Not cool.

Tonight’s word count (so far; I’m nowhere near finished for the evening): 735.

A piss poor effort. I need to rectify this.

Leave a Reply

