Mint Drumstick is Really Minty

7 Nov

Current Status: Sick

Food Consumed: 1 x mint drumstick & a shit-load of potato bake

On The iPod: Sarah Connor’s screams (from ‘Terminator 1’)

Word Count: 2,472

My husband’s cricket bag really stinks. He’s cleaning it out now – it’s 9:10 pm and he has a game at 8:00 am tomorrow, and he’s had all week to clean it and wash his smelly cricket gear. So basically the bag really stinks. Honestly, it’s foul. And I feel sick in turn because I’m sitting here smelling it. Plus, I just consumed a mint drumstick after eating way too much potato bake.

Smelly cricket gear + mint drumstick + eyes bigger than my stomach = a very sick writingant.

Yeah. It’s not good.

What is good is the day I’ve managed to have after thinking I was coming down with the flu last night. Husband had to work this morning (harsh on a Saturday, I know!) so I had the entire house to myself. What’s a girl to do? Break out the pens and the purdy note paper, crank up the iPod to the max and rock out to my manuscript’s playlist whilst getting some much-needed words down.

It was great!

I’m in the process of typing it all up now as I write (type) this (so the word count will follow in a little while). For some reason it’s easier for my brain to think of the right words when I write it out by hand first, and then transfer it to the computer later. It’s double-handling, I know, and takes twice as long, but I can’t seem to work my head around getting out of this bad habit. Maybe one day, but not now.

The ‘Poppy’ story is still coasting along at its usual pace. I just started on chapter 8 this evening – almost in the double figures. Exciting! I also broke the 20K mark, so I’m now officially allowed to get excited about this little tale. Yay!

Also, in a kinda related subject… I found a new ‘Muse’ song last night whilst traipsing around iTunes in a bid to rid myself of my raging headache (it does actually help most of the time, believe it or not). ‘Undisclosed Desires,’ it’s called. It just became my new favourite song on the ‘Poppy’ story playlist.

I know you’ve suffered,
But I don’t want you to hide,
It’s cold and loveless,
I won’t let you be denied

Soothing,
I’ll make you feel pure,
Trust me,
You can be sure

I want to reconcile the violence in your heart
I want to recognize your beauty is not just a mask,
I want to exorcise the demons from your past,
I want to satisfy the undisclosed desires in your heart

It’s so totally ‘Poppy’ that I just had to share it. Throughout the course of writing this novel I will post my playlist, images that continue to inspire me, etc, on the road to getting the first draft complete. I’m always so interested in finding out these little tidbits from my favourite authors – it’s like a behind-the-scenes look at how a novel is created, in a way. I just love it!

I’d best get on typing up today’s mighty efforts (I already know it’s a mighty effort without a word count – there’s 14 pages of handwritten mess to get through!) so I can add a count in at the top of this post and get to bed. Tomorrow morning I have a ‘Skype’ date with my BFF and a very hot and sweaty Urbanizer, c/w combat gear.

{{Ah, Kyle Reese just died. Damn. I was really rooting for the guy. Michael Biehn was a bit of a fox in his day.}}

Ahem. So, that word count. Keep an eye out for the edit.

In the meantime, sweet, bookish dreams to you all! I know I’ll be dreaming of my Poppy and Anton!

EDIT: I have updated the post with the day’s final word count. Total ‘Poppy’ count is 22,126. 72 pages. Now sleep.

Leave a Reply

