A Celebratory, First-Draft-Complete Post

8 Nov

Current Status: Crazy ecstatic

Food Consumed: I do not need any food, I am high on life!

On The iPod: My ecstatic screams

Word Count: Who the fuck cares? I just finished my first draft!!

I am the moon. And the sun.

I am happiness, encased in light, encased in sticky, gooey, sugary sweetness.

Basically, I am chocolate personified.

This is me trying to put into words how I’m feeling right now. Which is kind of difficult (and rather embarrassing, given that I like to fancy myself a writer). To condense the feeling into an itty bitty, bit-sized piece, I’ll just say that this is possibly one of the best feelings in the entire world, and I never want it to end. Ever.

That shouldn’t be too hard, right?

So, now that the first draft is complete, and the ink has dried on the pages, I’m already thinking about the edit (and dreading it). I have no intention of starting it just yet. I still have another manuscript to finish – the ‘Poppy’ story, one that I started only a week or so ago. It’s already got a decent 20,000 words against its name, so not too shabby.

Also, in keeping with my not-NaNoWriMo theme, I’d like to mention that this week I managed a neat 10,000 words. So, to reach my not-NaNoWriMo goal for the month of November, I only need to add another 40,000 words to the ‘Poppy’ story, and I’m there. Not that I care too much about that word count right now. If I can have the first draft of the ‘Poppy’ story basically finished by the end of this month, I will be the happiest girl on Earth. No joke.

I think I may have mentioned once or twice in passing to certain people that I hate my life.

I was lying, obviously.

5 Responses to “A Celebratory, First-Draft-Complete Post”

  1. Autumn 09/11/2009 at 6:00 am #

    congratulations on finishing the draft. I wish I could get through rough drafts so easily XP

    • thewritingant 09/11/2009 at 8:29 am #

      Thanks for the congratulations! 🙂 I’ve been working on this draft since August, or around then, and took a break from it when the idea for ‘Poppy’ appeared. So glad it’s finally finished, though. Now I can concentrate on ‘Poppy’ completely and start on the edit. **sigh** A writer’s work is never done!

  2. Claire 11/11/2009 at 10:42 am #

    i’ve been blessed to read some of “Poppy” and it’s fantastic…can’t wait till it’s finished!!!!

    • thewritingant 11/11/2009 at 10:50 am #

      Mwah!!! xx
      Thank you for allowing me to bombard you with my stuff – you are an awesome fan & an awesome friend! 🙂

  3. Grumpy 14/02/2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Big smiles for you cos I know EXACTLY how you feel 🙂
    http://www.grumpyyounglady.com/?p=406 (hmm, I have always thought it is a bit arrogant/naff to link in comments but oh well)

    I haven’t even touched my draft. I am a bit scared of it, but excited too.

Leave a Reply

