Insignificant

2 Mar

You cry to her as if she cares

But she does not

You are nothing but spam to her

An insect

A pest

She haunts your dreams

And every waking hour you think of her

But she doesn’t think of you

You are a smear on her window

A speck of grime in need of dispelling

And dispel she does

She sweeps you away with a single stroke

Like you aren’t even there

Like you never existed

You let her, because even though you are gone from her life

That one motion of acknowledgement means

For a second at least

You were not so insignificant.

© Amber Maguire, 2010.

6 Responses to “Insignificant”

  1. Karen Tyrrell 04/03/2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Hi amber,
    I enjoyed reading this powerful piece of writing. I didn’t know you wrote poetry too! Congrats!
    Good luck with all your writing. Cheers, Karen :))

  2. thewritingant 04/03/2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Hi Karen,
    Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m so glad you liked the poem. I do dabble in poetry from time to time, though I don’t think I’m too skilled with it.
    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂
    xx a

  3. slpmartin 05/03/2010 at 8:09 am #

    I’m not sure I could deal with that type of treatment…only if it irritated them to see me…then I would enjoy bothering them.

    • thewritingant 05/03/2010 at 2:23 pm #

      No, not many could, but those ‘always-happy-to-please-people,’ I have a feeling they might. Thanks for your comment 🙂 xx a

  4. navdib 13/07/2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Relate to it in some ways and nice to see it put in the way you have… my life revolved around my partner’s, only for her to leave one day after all those years of togetherness and promises we made… i tell myself that all that time spent wasn’t insignificant (maybe for her it was/is) and reading it here the way you put it kinda’ makes me feel better 🙂 thanks for sharing

    • thewritingant 13/07/2010 at 8:49 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m so sorry you had to go through that – it must have been hard. 😦 I’m glad you liked my poem. Thanks for reading and for your lovely comment. x

Leave a Reply

