To My Friend: A Poem

3 Jun

A letter;

To my dear friend,

With love.

I see that condescending smirk,

masked as a grin of pleasing

emotion;

The effortless bob of your

agreeable head,

to the beat of anything and everything

I say –

False kindness.

I don’t have time for.

Like the cat that rubs up against you,

shows you love and then –

strikes,

Teeth exposed

Claws out

Digging in,

marking flesh until it bleeds.

The sun does not rotate around

your insincerities,

dripping in artificial sugar –

Saccharine – too sweet –

Oozing and polluting from

the pores of lily skin.

Deception is fleeting.

I see your true colours,

Painted black from the attack

that came floating to me on

Chinese whispered winds.

It was dark;

you thought I wouldn’t know;

but the monkey always hears

the evil

when it is spoken –

And she heard yours.

So I say to you:

The inconsistencies you try to hide –

I know them, so stop the lies.

Your faults are great and though

mine are, too, I cannot reconcile with yours

any longer.

The fake nature of you

is nauseating;

Nesting in me this urge to flee your grasp,

throw you to the wind like a boomerang

I do not want back.

This is the last correspondence we shall have.

Take your letter, dear friend,

and go.

I will not miss you.

© Amber Maguire, 2010.

30 Responses to “To My Friend: A Poem”

  1. slpmartin 06/06/2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Wow…this one is just full of emotion towards this false friend….and the image of the cat was just brilliant….totally loved this one…thanks!

    • thewritingant 06/06/2010 at 5:27 pm #

      Thank you! I wrote it a little while ago & found it again recently – brings back memories for sure. Thanks for commenting & letting me know you enjoyed. 🙂

  2. Jodine Derena Butler 16/06/2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Very awesome poem! Friends sometimes hurt us the most…or is it we sometimes hurt the ones closest to us, whom we love… Jx

    • thewritingant 16/06/2010 at 9:00 pm #

      Thank you very much! Yes, we do tend to hurt those we care about most, and the betrayal of a friend can sting for a long time. Thanks for reading. xx a

  3. heartspell 17/06/2010 at 7:18 am #

    I can hear the anger and sadness in this. Well done. Heartspell

  4. D.S. Lear 17/06/2010 at 7:34 am #

    Strong emotional writing!

  5. Emmanuel Ibok 17/06/2010 at 7:50 am #

    The way the letter started, I was expecting a rather cozy and lovely words…I love the twist in it…brilliant…nice work. Cheers!

  6. brian 17/06/2010 at 8:22 am #

    bang! way to break it off…thats no friend, indeed.

  7. fiveloaf 17/06/2010 at 2:04 pm #

    mistakes can be forgiven but fake? urghh!

  8. Jingle 17/06/2010 at 5:58 pm #

    let go,
    move on,
    after everything is said,
    it is time to forgive and forget.
    Smile…

    beautiful poem!

  9. Artswebshow 17/06/2010 at 9:55 pm #

    this is amazing.
    Really nicely done

  10. Jingle 18/06/2010 at 5:50 am #

    hope that you return favors to poets who were here for you.
    have fun reading other poets.

    • thewritingant 18/06/2010 at 7:40 am #

      Yes, I already have been. 🙂 I think you must be in a different timezone to me because when you’ve been online I’ve been sleeping. 😉

  11. Morganna 18/06/2010 at 9:49 am #

    Very nice. I like the image of the cat.

    • thewritingant 18/06/2010 at 9:58 am #

      Thank you! I love my cats but they can be quite dismissive when they want to be. 😉

  12. mairmusic 18/06/2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Your poem escalates almost alarmingly, making its point. Nice use of language!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  13. sk 19/06/2010 at 3:37 am #

    Thanks for sharing!! I love the cat part! is nice to read!

  14. hoiden 22/06/2010 at 12:25 pm #

    i loved the cat!!amazing poem:)
    http://hoiden.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

