Quote of the Day

17 Jun

“Writing is a solitary occupation. Family, friends, society are natural enemies of the writer. He must be alone.”

Jessamyn West.

8 Responses to “Quote of the Day”

  1. Karen Tyrrell 17/06/2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Hi Amber, a great quote and oh so true! Thank God we have other writers to support and guide us.Cheers, Karen :))
    PS Just added you to my Blog Roll.

    • thewritingant 18/06/2010 at 7:37 am #

      Yes, thank goodness for the internet! It’s my only connection to other writers, really, and it definitely helps to keep the sanity and enthusiasm levels high when the lows of this craft hit. Thanks for the add, too. xx

  2. Emmanuel Ibok 18/06/2010 at 10:44 am #

    This is so true…and you know, few hours ago, I just got mad at a friend for continuing talking after I had signaled I needed some time to muse and write. Lovely!!!

    • thewritingant 18/06/2010 at 11:12 am #

      I know, I love this quote because I feel like I don’t have to worry about the fact that I’m a hermit when I’m in a real creative place. I, too, neglect my friends when I’m “in the zone.” I feel terrible about it, but when the muse calls we cannot ignore it!

  3. D.S. Lear 19/06/2010 at 4:43 pm #

    love this quote, thanks for sharing..think I might just paste this one to all my mirrors..and the refrigerator of course..most people I know think I’m running away from something or someone by being alone most of my time..but they are so wrong..it’s just the opposite!

    • thewritingant 20/06/2010 at 3:47 pm #

      It *is* the opposite and unless you’re a writer at heart you just don’t understand. When I saw the quote I thought it was just “so me,” so I had to post it to share with everyone.

      It’s nice to know that even though writing is such a lonely profession, we’re really not alone after all. x

  4. Jingle 20/06/2010 at 12:10 pm #

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/19/thursday-poets-rally-week-23-poetry-awards-special-notice/

    all 5 awards for you.
    many thanks!
    😉

    No Rally next week.

Leave a Reply

