and tumbling tumbling

9 Jul

I am taking a much needed writing break. It will probably only be for three days – until next week – but if I can stretch it a little longer, I will. I need to just get away from the words and the frustrations of having no words and just —

Read.

Relax in the sun.

Take a load off.

Do nothing.

Do everything.

I’ll still blog because, let’s face it, there’s no way I can give up all writing – even for just a day. I just won’t be pressuring myself to write, and I won’t touch the novel.

So, if you need me, I’ll be on the beach, or at a barbeque, or sipping on hot chocolate in front of “Pride and Prejudice”, or losing myself in the words of Emily Dickinson or Edgar Allen Poe.

touch me I’m golden

wild as the wind blows

if just for tonight darling, let’s get lost

* The companion song for this post (and the one I was listening to while writing it) is Beck & Bat For Lashes’ “Let’s Get Lost.”

5 Responses to “and tumbling tumbling”

  1. Lila 09/07/2010 at 11:26 am #

    I hope you enjoy your very much needed break. Eat some BBQ for me! 🙂

    • thewritingant 12/07/2010 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks, Lila. It wasn’t quite the break I had in mind – very stressful – but life is like that sometimes.

      Still, I didn’t write one word. And I ate bbq twice! 😀

  2. slpmartin 09/07/2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Here’s hoping that your break is peaceful and full of joy. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. With a Fresh Start Comes New Goals « The Writing Ant - 12/07/2010

    […] writing break didn’t go exactly to plan. I’m not coming back to the words refreshed. I’m coming back to the words relaxed, full […]

Leave a Reply

