The Journey is What Counts

9 Jul

Talented young author, Steph Bowe, reminded me of something very important last night – something I think I’d forgotten along the way.

I’ve been so caught up in this rush to get my novel finished and ready for submission, have put soo much energy into getting that illustrious publishing contract so that I can finally feel like I have succeeded, that I’ve kind of left the fun of creating behind. I’ve forgotten how wonderful it feels just to be able to WRITE and have become lost in the pressures (all of my own making) of trying to write professionally.

I have to admit that this writer fatigue has been getting me down (a lot!) lately, but reading Steph’s post has rejuvenated me in a way I can’t really explain. I just know that reading it was what I really needed, and though I’m still struggling to get the words on the pages, I don’t feel so lost anymore, because it all makes sense in some strange, indescribable way.

As Steph said: “It’s about enjoying the journey, you guys.”

So write. But don’t write only to be published, or to please a certain demographic, or to get rich – write for YOU. And don’t forget to enjoy it.

If you haven’t read Steph’s insightful post, you really should! <– Linkie!

4 Responses to “The Journey is What Counts”

  1. amanda 09/07/2010 at 9:43 am #

    Ah, yes, the journey is good. (I say this when I just did a post saying basically “Submit it, already!”) I believe both are true — enjoy the journey, and then let it go.

    • thewritingant 12/07/2010 at 9:54 am #

      Yes, you do need to let it go eventually. I’m almost at the point where I could rewrite and rewrite until the cows come home, but I think after this draft I will submit no matter what. I believe in my work and in my text, so that’s all I can really do.

      Thanks for your comment, Amanda. 🙂

  2. Steph Bowe 09/07/2010 at 11:10 am #

    I’m so glad that post was helpful!
    I still get caught up in everything myself… just thinking, gotta write the next book, gotta make a career out of this, then I’ll be happy with myself. But I just end up stressed out and overworked and I stop actually enjoying writing – which in my mind is the most important thing!
    Good luck xx
    And Amanda – submitting is part of the journey! The journey doesn’t end when you get published!

    • thewritingant 12/07/2010 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you again, Steph!

      You’re write – enjoying writing IS the most important thing, and I too get caught up in the stress of it all and stop liking what I’m doing, which is really disappointing.

      Thanks for the luck, and right back at you! xx

Leave a Reply

