The End is Near

24 Aug

Current Status: Elated & emotional

Food Consumed: Nothin’

On The iPod: 9 Crimes; Damien Rice

Word Count: 4 pages (longhand)

I will be finished my novel-in-progress very soon. This week. Maybe even today.

Soon, my work-in-progress will no longer be a work-in-progress – it will be complete, whole, a piece of my soul in a bunch of jumbled up scenes that tell a story I hope you’ll all like. And although I’m yet to write the final scene (which is, coincidentally, perhaps the hardest scene I will have to write in this novel, that one pivotal moment where everything changes for my protag), I’ve already started to feel a bit teary – not because I can’t/don’t want to write this last scene, but because it’s so close to being over, and soon it really will be.

It’s been about 18 months since  I properly started this novel (give or take a few months, I’ve never been good with numbers). Along the way I’ve loved and loathed many things about it, but one thing has always been a constant throughout the writing of this piece: I have always loved my characters, and I think I always will.

Now, the thought of letting them go – finally letting them go – is a little scary and almost too much to bear. I want to cling to them and never let them go, but if I do that then you will never get the chance to love them as much as I do, and I really want you all to love them, or at least have the opportunity to love them.

I’ve mentioned that I’m going to have a blog contest soon and give away something pretty to one of my lucky followers. I think I’ve been waiting for this moment – the moment I write “The End” on my novel for the very last time – to start the contest. It’s fitting, don’t you think?

I must get back to the words – I’m on a roll and I don’t want to stop! While I finish this novel and try ever so hard not to cry at the thought of saying goodbye to my characters, I’ll leave you with a mini-inspiration post, a few images that sum up my final scenes quite perfectly.

2 Responses to “The End is Near”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel 24/08/2010 at 9:11 am #

    Congratulations on being so close to “the end”. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

