Pre-Writer’s Festival Madness

3 Sep

I started packing and organising myself for the Brisbane Writer’s Festival two days ago. I’m sure I’ll forget something important – I usually do when I travel.

I’ve realised today that I should have taken the day off work. The madness of planning a road trip is slowly taking me over – I can hardly concentrate on the tasks I have to do, my mind is full of traffic plans and road closures and getting to our accomodation on time and getting to the festival panels I’ve purchased on time. The fact that Brisbane’s biggest festival of the year just happens to coincide with my arrival for the writer’s festival certainly doesn’t help the planning – or my sanity levels! But I shall prevail… I think.

The most important things I need to remember are:

– The accommodation booking confirmation sheet

– My writing samples, CV’s and synopsis’ (probably a little optimistic of me, but better to have them than to not!)

– The house keys, so we can get back home again

– My laptop, notebook, and ample pens (for when the muse strikes)

– My underwear (possibly the most important of them all).

As this is my first proper writer’s festival attendence (I went to Bundy WriteFest in May this year, but that was tiny in comparison to this extravaganza of an event!) I think I’m allowed to be excited/nervous/overzealous/embarrassing-squealer-girl. That being said, I promise to cover my mouth if I fear a squeal coming on; much like a cough, only without the spread of noxious germs.

If you’re interested, I will be tweeting like mad from the festival for the entire weekend (probably including the long, boring drive south). Follow my Twitter alias, IAmTheAnt, if you’d like to keep updated on my festival musings; otherwise, stay tuned, for I will be blogging extensively about it all once I’m home again. Or maybe before, if, you know, I manage to slot in a bit of free time in amongst all the literary minglings and oglings and such.

6 Responses to “Pre-Writer’s Festival Madness”

  1. carolyn 03/09/2010 at 1:49 pm #

    One word for you = HILARIOUS !!!!!!

    Have fun and don’t stress………….x

    • thewritingant 03/09/2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Thanks, hehe! It’s going to be an action-packed, awesome weekend! xx a

  2. Carol Ann Hoel 04/09/2010 at 5:47 am #

    Have fun and be careful. (The voice of a mom, hey?)_

    • thewritingant 09/09/2010 at 9:24 am #

      Thanks, Carol. I was very careful and had lots of fun. I’ll blog about it all once I get a chance (and I have some really fabulous news to share, too!) xx a

  3. Anna 08/09/2010 at 12:56 am #

    Good luck, Amber! It will be awesome! πŸ˜€ Sounds fantastic, and I admit, I’m slightly jealous of you – I’m heading back to school, and you get to go to a writing festival. LOL! πŸ˜€

    • thewritingant 09/09/2010 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks, Anna, I had so much fun! I’ll definitely be going to more writing festivals in the future! Stay tuned for my blog post about the weekend. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

