I Come Bearing Good News!

15 Sep

I got the news in the BP service station outside Caboolture. I was on my way to Brisbane for the writer’s festival, and it was the first time I’d had phone service since I’d left home.

I didn’t expect to get a place – in fact, I was so sure that I had no chance of winning that when the email came through – “delighted to let you know you have been accepted” – I was struck mute for at least a few minutes.

I had just won myself a place in a mentoring writer’s retreat.

I’ve wanted to tell you all this for a while now (I found out a couple of weeks ago), but I didn’t quite know how to put it into words before. I’m still not sure I’ve done the news justice. Sure, to some out there this may seem a bit like overkill: to get so excited over something that, when compared to a publishing contract or something of similar magnitude, is quite small. But to someone like me, someone who has previously been too afraid to even put my work out there for critique, someone who has been knocked back with short stories and poems, someone who has felt the lowest of writing lows (and more than once), someone who has doubted her skills almost at every turn, well, this is huge and exciting and I still can’t believe this happened to me. Is happening to me.

My completed novel, “Times of Bright” is already with the author who will be conducting the retreat in a month’s time. During the three days she will provide me with feedback on my strengths and weaknesses as a writer, in order to help me polish the manuscript into something I can then send away to agents and publishers for consideration.

I envisage many rewrites in my not-too-distant future, but that’s okay, because I’m on the track to publication now. And I can only go forward from here.

10 Responses to “I Come Bearing Good News!”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel 15/09/2010 at 8:45 am #

    Congratulations. I am glad for you!

  2. Kylie L 15/09/2010 at 10:45 am #

    Such brilliant- and no doubt deserved- news. Congratulations and enjoy!

  3. Claire 15/09/2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Yay! Congratulations. 🙂

  4. Kelly McLean 16/09/2010 at 8:42 am #

    How awesome! I love reading your blog and it is fantastic to see someone with your obvious writing talent going forward in the writing community! Can I put you on my Australian Writers Rock Website as an emeging writer with links to this Blog? It is one of my favourite on-line reads.

    Thx

    Kel 🙂

    • thewritingant 16/09/2010 at 8:55 am #

      Aww, thanks so much, Kelly! Yes, you may link my blog on your site – thank you. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoy reading my blog. Good luck with your blog, too! xx a

  5. Rebecca James 16/09/2010 at 12:58 pm #

    That’s huge news! Congratulations Amber!

Leave a Reply

