It’s Here!

14 Oct

Current Status: Migraine-y

Food Consumed: My nerves

On The iPod: Page One; Katie Noonan & The Captain

Word Count: Lots of (longhand) pages!

Remember a while back I told you I’d won a place in a writing retreat? Well, the weekend of the retreat is finally here, and I’m a bundle of nervous energy.

My weekend of intensive writing starts tonight: the meet-and-greet retreat dinner. I’ve never been too good at dealing with meeting new people (hence part of the nervous energy), and I’ll be on my own, too, as opposed to being with my husband, who is only slightly better at meeting strangers than I am. If you’re anything like me – shy, awkward, doesn’t like public speaking or public scrutiny – then you’ll understand my trepidation.

I also get my manuscript report this evening – this is where most of the nervous bundle of energy comes in! I’m trying to prepare myself for the worst – that my novel is a big ol’ mess and is beyond repair – but there’s still a little voice in the back of my mind (or heart) that loves my novel so dearly that I can’t even begin to fathom why someone else can’t love it the same as me.

I have this sinking feeling that the night may end in tears: my tears.

I’ll let you know…

3 Responses to “It’s Here!”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel 15/10/2010 at 12:46 am #

    You’ll be fine. I do understand being an introvert and shy and feeling like canceling, but you won’t cancel because you love your MS and writing. I am cheering for you! Blessings…

    • thewritingant 01/11/2010 at 8:45 am #

      Thanks Carol. 🙂 Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your comment, things have been really hectic and I’ve been kind of AWOL from the online writing community.

Leave a comment